BY APB Staff on 20 Feb 2019

The two-weekend race took place in the exclusive Peninsula de Punta Fuego, south of Manila, in the Philippines

30 to over 40 knot winds whipped the competing boats at the recently-concluded 17th Punta Fuego Regatta. There was some retiring and gear failure, which did not dampen the excitement generated by the races.

One of the longest-running regattas in the country, it is held annually at the exclusive Peninsula de Punta Fuego luxury seaside community on the Batangas coastline, just south of Manila in the Philippines.

17th Punta Fuego Regatta Concludes
(17th Club Punta Fuego Regatta Winners in Karakoa Team)

These races were held over two weekends, and saw sailboats of various sizes – Hobie 16, Hobie Getway, Open Dinghy, Oz Goose, Optimist, Keelboat, Fareast 28R and Ocean Multihull – enjoying the tricky winds surrounding Fortune Island.

For the big boats, Ray Ordoveza’s Karakoa won overall, earning them the Eduardo Roxas Cup. Other winners are Rene Ticson’s Papaya ll who took Overall Cruising Class, Ray Ordoveza’s Karakoa again for Overall Racing Class, and Eric Puno’s Querida Mia for Overall Ocean Multihull.